Social Media: “Et tu, Brute” ?

I have worked as a Social Media marketer for the past six years. During that time I have done some exciting and very creative work.  When I first read the article “Why I Will Never, Ever Hire A “Social Media Expert” by Peter Shankman I thought… “Et tuBrute”!  I thought Peter was one of us. After all Peter is a top marketing consultant and the founder of Help A Reporter Out (HARO). Most people realize that Help A Reporter Out is one of the fastest growing social media services.

I wished it was not true. Say it ain’t so. However, there was no denying it. Here was “Brutus” and his blog post, “Why I Will Never, Ever Hire A “Social Media Expert”.

Then I read the whole post and ended up agreeing whole heartedly with everything Peter writes. There are way too many people out there who think they are a social media guru, rockstar, or savant.

I just moved back to the U.S. after living and working in Europe. When I got back and started looking for jobs, I was genuinely surprised by the number of job postings that were looking for a social media guru, rockstar or savant. I was also amazed at the job descriptions that said things like, “create viral marketing campaigns using social media”.

No doubt, I have a few viral campaigns under by belt. I know firsthand the commitment and creativity needed to generate these campaigns. Unfortunately, the companies looking for a social media guru, rockstar or savant don’t have a clue.  These companies use “social media” buzz words without ever knowing their true meaning. These companies just want to check the social media block. These companies are not dedicated to social media. They are anything but serious.

Personally, I avoid these companies like the plague.

Click to read the article “Why I Will Never, Ever Hire A “Social Media Expert” by Peter Shankman.

Photo Creidt:  Some rights reserved by Rosaura Ochoa : flicker

About Ryan Swindall @Ryan_Swindall

Social Media Manager at Accellion View all posts by Ryan Swindall @Ryan_Swindall

Leave a Reply

